The Big Blow Out

Standard

The Big Blow Out

By Joanie Buettgen

Copyright 2011

Our Minnesota blizzard started Sunday morning, and didn’t quit until Monday night. We had six inches of grey snow on the ground. Then Mother Nature decided we needed twelve more.

Many northerners pride themselves with being resourceful. But this winter has tried the patience of any saint. We’ve all had quite enough of this winter. Then we took a vote. Spring needs to come, now.

I’ve even overheard people counting down the days until Easter. That too will be late this year.

I constantly ask myself, “Can anyone blame us for being grumpy?”

As many of you know, Minnesota has extreme weather. Some examples of are, arctic cold fronts, spring floods, and summer tornadoes. This state is not for the weak.

Typically, days before it hits, the media starts the hype. Our Weather Channel has frequent updates. People flock to stores. The schools start to close early.

Finally, last Sunday the blast hit. During the whiteout I decided to shovel off our deck. As the inches piled up I tried to push the snow off. This was a slow and tedious process. The more I shoveled the more it piled up. I tried to throw the wet snow. It blew back in my face. I gave up and went inside.

Then I noticed my neck. I usually don’t care about it, but today I did. The pain started as an annoying twinge, then a throb, and the swelling grabbed me by the throat. I opened a large bottle of Tylenol, and took three.

What caused this pain? Heavy snow was the culprit. Forty-eight hours later, the landscape looked like a white king-size comforter. And many roof tops resembled jet puffed marshmallows.

As I peeked around the neighborhood, I thought I saw a house. Then I took another look and noticed ten foot high snow piles, everywhere.

So if you plan to vacation up north, come prepared. Our state is no place for wussies!

Joanie Buettgen is “Just another columnist trying out this new stuff.” Published: More.com, Minnesota Moments Magazine, Thankful-Home.tv, Carver County Historical Society, Kansas City BBQ Society, Carver County News, National Barn Alliance, and Ridgeview Medical Center newsletter. Memberships: National Society of Newspaper Columnists, Toastmaster’s, Minnesota Newspaper Association, Erma Bombeck Writers’ Workshop attendee. Social Networking: Blog:https://joanie19.wordpress.com, http://twitter.com/joaniebuettgen, http://www.linkedin/com/in/joaniebuettgen.

2 responses »

  1. Joanie,
    Now you know why most saints come from mild temperature areas! Those northern esthetics give up there struggle before March arrives, usually with colorful language. Just kidding, of course.
    Our temps have been bouncing up and down too. We just had a week of heavy winds that left “tree gifts” in everyone’s yard.

  2. I hear you! A week ago Friday, it was 19, no school, ice, snow. Today it was 74. I’m plum tuckered out switching from summer clothes to winter clothes back to summer clothes etc. and that’s just one day.

Leave a Reply

