Black Gold

Standard

Black Gold

By Joanie Buettgen

Copyright 2011

The first cup of Joe in the morning is always the best! I wake up and immediately fantasize about my stainless steel stud coffee machine. Then I trudge down stairs in my bunny slippers, turn on the kitchen light, and reach for my favorite Folgers. I take a big sniff and anticipate a great tasting mug.

Then I approach the kitchen sink, turn on the cold tap water, and let it run for a couple of minutes. This is the most important step to secure a perfect pot. And I want to make sure those nasty chlorine chemicals have been flushed down the drain.

Next, I grab the filter. It’s a special paper that assures optimum extractions of the coffee’s taste. And it has a superior stay-in-place design that prevents the grounds from overflowing. During this first step the hot water sprinkles over the fresh grounds and then into the carafe. But if the cone is not secured firmly you’ll hear a hissing sound, there will be no brew and a big mess. As I sit at my kitchen table, I’m confident that I have taken every step to the perfect cup. Then I wait for the machine to beep.

After the toot I grab my favorite ceramic mug, grab the pot, and pour my first goblet of gold. As a true connoisseur I savor that first sip. It’s just like heaven.

But not today, today it tasted like sludge. I spit the contents out into the kitchen sink.

What could have gone wrong? I did everything right. Then it hit me. Has it really been 4 years since I bought this blasted machine?

 I know a decent cup of Joe is on the horizon. Maybe the donut shop down the street will have the perfect cup.

Just another columnist trying out this new stuff. Published: More.com, Minnesota Moments Magazine, Thankful-Home.tv, Carver County Historical Society, Kansas City BBQ Society, Carver County News, National Barn Alliance, and Ridgeview Medical Center newsletter. Memberships: National Society of Newspaper Columnists, Toastmaster’s, Minnesota Newspaper Association, Erma Bombeck Writers’ Workshop attendee. Social Networking: Blog:https://joanie19.wordpress.com, http://twitter.com/joaniebuettgen, http://www.linkedin/com/in/joaniebuettgen.

7 responses »

  1. What a let down! At least you got a good story from it.

    I don’t drink coffee so I can only relate by what happened today. A friend and I had lunch at a buffet restaurant. After eating too much we went to the soft-serve machine. They only had vanilla. And, no chocolate sauce.

Leave a Reply

