Replacing myself

Standard

Replacing myself

By Joanie Buettgen

Copyright 2010

My day started at 5 a.m. to volunteer at a local business. Afterwards, I headed to a coffee shop for a quick jolt. As I was leaving I happened to walk by their note board. Most people don’t notice these postings. They should. This communication spot is reserved for the unemployed, rentals, and lost dogs.

Something told me to stop by this board. Then, I noticed something was missing. My business cards had vanished.

This message center is roughly 36” x 42”. It has a long history of assorted 2” x 2” cards. This collage collection looked to me like an early Picasso.

For instance, there was the brightly colored poster of a “Sister Saturday” event, a desperate “Roommate Wanted” sign, a heartfelt “Hope for Brett Benefit,” a loud notice for “Percussion Lessons,” and numerous “Apartments for Rent.”

Two weeks earlier, I had posted my calling card on this board. Where did it go? I wondered.

After the shock wore off, I posted a new business card. This time it had my own colored photo right on the front!

Published: Minnesota Moments Magazine, Carver County Historical Society, Kansas City BBQ Society, Carver County News, and the National Barn Alliance.

Memberships: National Society of Newspaper Columnists, Toastmaster’s, Minnesota Newspaper Association, Erma Bombeck Writers’ Workshop attendee.

Social Networking: Blog:https://joanie19.wordpress.com, http://twitter.com/joaniebuettgen, www.linkedin/com/in/joaniebuettgen.

Leave a Reply

