Dual citizenship

Standard

Dual citizenship

By Joanie Buettgen

Copyright 2010

Statistics tell young parents that their second child will be shy, withdrawn, and possibly difficult to pin down.

With this information in mind, the possibility of a third child being born in America is now a question mark.  

Our second daughter, Rene’ is amazing and quite the opposite of this information. She has many talents such as; she’s very independent and she’s a born negotiator in troubled times.

Just today I received a frantic call from Rene,’ “Hi…Mom!”

As her mother, I just knew by her tone of voice and her choice of words-she was angry.

“Hi, honey. What’s up?”

“I’m so upset. I was on my way home, and my wire on my retainer broke.”

A simple piece of metal and a bracket may not seem like a big deal, but too many moms and dads it spells trouble.

I found this phone call today, especially painful. Our child is 28 years old, and is living a dual life.

You see, this past January, Rene’ moved to South Dakota for a job promotion. So, one half of her is in Minnesota-the other half is in South Dakota.

What makes matters worse is that in the past two months she has made four trips (over 400 miles) to fix this dentistry problem, which should have been done right the first time.

After Rene’s phone comments, I tried to calm her down. I reinforced her management skills at: negotiating an urgent appointment, a monetary adjustment on her dentistry bill when interstate commuting; and finally reminding her to keep a calm demeanor when the charts started to fly.  

Later in the conversation I had her calm and then her phone beeped.

Rene’ had the critical tooth call on hold.

Two hours later, I received a call from her. “I just wanted to let you know they finally fixed it. I had three appointments today. She replaced the wire. She figured out they probably cut it too short. They were really nice.”

When I walked into their office they said, “How are you today?”

“I’m not going to lie to you,” Rene’ said. “This has not been a good day…I just want it fixed.”

And she did!

Published: Minnesota Moments Magazine, Carver County Historical Society, Kansas City BBQ Society, Carver County News, and the National Barn Alliance. Memberships: National Society of Newspaper Columnists, Toastmaster’s, Minnesota Newspaper Association, Erma Bombeck Writers’ Workshop attendee. Social Networking: Blog: https://joanie19.wordpress.com, http://twitter.com/joaniebuettgen, www.linkedin/com/in/joaniebuettgen.

2 responses »

  1. Dual citizenship. I thought only Texas had that. Only 3 of ours had to have braces but I do remember all the broken wires. Once I had to cover one with two pieces of bubble gum until I could get her to the dentist (the wire not the kid).

  2. Joanie,
    It sounds like you can calm her down no matter what. You helped her keep her head while she concentrated on her mouth!

Leave a Reply

