Bathing basin

Standard

Bathing basin

By Joanie Buettgen

Copyright 2010

Most people I know take daily showers. Humans wake up early in the morning, half asleep and stumble into the bathroom and start to bathe.

But, what do we do…if we can’t?

Recently, our shower head broke. At 7 a.m., on a Friday, all I needed was to hose down with some water. But where? The kitchen sink was calling me.

In our culinary domain we accomplish many things: prepare a masterpiece, congregate for family dinners, and wash dishes.

I asked myself, “Why not use my stainless steel basin to bathe?”

A trial run was needed. So, I grabbed a nice fluffy towel; snatch a bottle of my favorite shampoo, and head over to my new kitchen shower-the sink.

At the sink, I start to turn on the hot water, and then I add a little cold; and attempt to push the sprayer which is located by the sink. As I was reaching for it, I noticed that the black handle had broken off.

I’m not a tall person. How does one get their hair wet without the water running down your neck, back and onto the kitchen floor? Well, you stand up on your tippy toes, bend at the waist, and try to get half of your body into the sink.

What a picture that would be if your family came down early to use the facilities!

Published: Minnesota Moments Magazine, Carver County Historical Society, Kansas City BBQ Society, Carver County News, and the National Barn Alliance.

Memberships: National Society of Newspaper Columnists, Toastmaster’s, Minnesota Newspaper Association, Erma Bombeck Writers’ Workshop attendee.

Social Networking: Blog:https://joanie19.wordpress.com, http://twitter.com/joaniebuettgen, www.linkedin/com/in/joaniebuettgen.

Leave a Reply

