After Erma

Standard

After Erma

By Joanie Buettgen

Copyright 2010

Traveling can be exhausting for many people. But, have you ever wondered how we accomplished the tasks on our trip? I think I’ve figured it out and not a human being was involved.

Yesterday, I arrived home after the long flight from the Erma Bombeck Writers’ Workshop (#EBWW) in Dayton, Ohio. That’s when the real clean up started.

As the unpacking began, I noticed the many trinkets from the conference. My purse is a great traveling companion, and deserves all the credit. My carrier had accomplished much and I owe her a lot as she led me safely through the many airport security checkpoints.

At the Minneapolis-Saint Paul International Airport my leather satchel started her job very early. My eyes scanned the people as we snaked our way to the starting gate. Then, I opened my bag and viewed her excellent organizational skills which included: schedules for the conference, boarding passes, charter van information, booking receipts for the hotel and flights.

Upon closer inspection of my large purse, I noticed many items. Then, I moved to the second level of this structure, which included: Un-used business cards, some with lipstick smudges, Bazooka Bubble Gum, wads of leftover chewing gum, Advil, an empty hand lotion tube, many ticket stubs, tons of receipts, candy wrappers, mints, six tubes of lipstick, (3 of them glossies), “Wet Ones,” “three, “no grit left” emery boards, and finally eight assorted pens.

I’m sure you’ll read about the many stories from this conference, I just wanted to write about a lonely bag that deserves applause-my purse!

Just another columnist trying out this new stuff. Published: Minnesota Moments Magazine, Carver County Historical Society, Kansas City BBQ Society, Carver County News, and the National Barn Alliance. Memberships: National Society of Newspaper Columnists, Toastmaster’s, Minnesota Newspaper Association. Social Networking: Blog: https://joanie19.wordpress.com, http://twitter.com/joaniebuettgen, http://www.linkedin/com/in/joaniebuettgen.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

