Dry Grounds

Standard

Dry Grounds

By Joanie Buettgen

Copyright 2010

Getting up at the crack of dawn is hard. My coveted red container sits in a crammed cabinet on a high shelf. On the kitchen counter sits a stainless steel Cuisinart. They both miss me.

Morning rituals can be embarrassing, especially when there’s no one here to blame.

While reading, answering and deleting emails one day I entered the kitchen and noticed a large brown puddle of water at the base of my coffee maker. With my computer on cyber-hold I noticed that the white, crimpled filter was placed wrong in the metal basket. Dam.

My morning habit, of that first cup of Joe is always the best. It’s really hard to wait for the brewing process to finish. I’m not a patient person.

Do you ever wonder, where your head is, in those pre-dawn mornings?

Mine was obviously not attached.

I tried to rewind my morning’s mental log, just trying to figure out what the heck happened with my machine.

First, I fed Jake my needy dog; every morning he does his happy dance by rearing up like a horse. By his clicking toe nails on our kitchen floor we know he is anxious about his morning chow.

After the canine has his breakfast, I take out my vitamins and place them on the counter-top. Then, I turn on the cold water, and let it run to get that arctic temperature just right for my cup of liquid gold.

Now, as my a.m. pupils start to adjust to the bright kitchen light; they widen as I meander to the refrigerator, I stand and stare. The ice box isn’t amused as the electricity meter is pumping and recording my misuse of power-I don’t care.

The gray matter in my head is wondering, “What the heck was I looking for? Was it yogurt, ketchup, or maybe a little snack?” I can’t figure it out; I’ll make another mental note to come back when I remember.  

Then I notice that darn dog is now at the front door again. He cocks his head as if to say, “Oh, not this again, how long do I have to wait until she remembers it’s time to poop?”

The phone rings and a long, personal conversation begins-it’s not a short one.

My Folgers is still waiting.

Next step, time to take out the trash; that’s when I noticed another large body of water the size of Lake Superior which has appeared on my tiled floor. I now wait and want, and think to myself that my Mr. Clean is really behind on his chores

Just another columnist trying out this new stuff.

Published: Minnesota Moments Magazine, Carver County Historical Society, Kansas City BBQ Society, Carver County News, and the National Barn Alliance.

Memberships: National Society of Newspaper Columnists, Toastmaster’s, Minnesota Newspaper Association, Erma Bombeck Writers’ Workshop attendee.

Social Networking: Blog:https://joanie19.wordpress.com, http://twitter.com/joaniebuettgen, www.linkedin/com/in/joaniebuettgen.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

